Investments & Wealth Competency Matrix

IMCA’s unique Investments & Wealth Competency Matrix ensures that the association’s advanced education for investment and wealth management professionals remains on the forefront of an evolving industry.  By articulating competencies for those who provide advice to high-net-worth individuals and/or institutions, the matrix offers a business management and ethical framework incorporating 11 learning domains.

Through the domains covered in the matrix, experienced professionals can receive live or online education on the topics needed to increase their ability to provide investments and wealth advice.  In addition to serving as the required standards for providing investments and wealth advice, the competencies and ethical standards included in the matrix are integral to IMCA’s key credentialing programs, the Certified Investment Management Analyst® (CIMA) and Certified Private Wealth Advisor® (CPWA) certifications.

Domains include:                                                        

Investment Advice

  • Statistical and economic fundamentals
  • Portfolio construction and risk management
  • Traditional and alternative investments
  • Portfolio theory and behavioral finance
  • Application:  Investment consulting practice

Wealth Advice

  • Human dynamics
  • Wealth management strategies
  • Legacy planning
  • Application:  Advising the HNW Client

Investment and Wealth